Norwegian version of this page

The Executive Board


The executive board is the departments highest decision-making body. The group decides the department's policies, priorities and strategies.

The head of the department is the chairperson of the board and prepares the matters to be dealt with. The administrative head of department is the board's secretary.

All the meetings of the executive board er open.

The board exercises its responsibilities based upon resolutions made by the University Board and the Faculty Board and within the laws and regulations that are valid at the time.

The matters passed by the board are regulated by the department's management and administration regulations.

The board is responsible for

  • The annual plan and the budget.
  • The principal plans, principles and priorities for the department, such as, for example, the department's strategic plan and academic priorities.
  • The accounts and annual report
  • Internal organisation
  • Recruitment of the head of department and academic positions. The final recruitment decision is made by the Faculty board, which has responsibility for recruitment.


Election to the executive board

Permanent members of staff elect their representatives for four year periods. The representatives for student sand temporary staff are elected each year.

External representatives are appointed for a period of four years by the Faculty Board on the recommendation of the department executive board.

Members 2020–2023

Representatives Full Deputy
Head of department Anniken Hagelund No deputy
Deputy head of department Jemima García-Godos No deputy
Representative for permanent academic staff

David Jordhus-Lier

Cathrine Holst

Mette Andersson

1st deputy: Trude Lappegård

2nd deputy: Magne Flemmen

3rd deputy: Lars Erik Kjekshus

4th deputy:  Grete Brochmann

5th deputy: Øyvind Wiborg

6th deputy: Marianne Nordli Hansen

Representantative for temporary academic staff (2020) Maren Toft

1st deputy: Camilla Houeland

2nd deputy: Eirik Jerven Berger

Representative for administrative/technical staff Stina Petersen

1st deputy:  Audrey Stark

2nd deputy: Runar Forsetløkken

Student representative for department's programmes (spring and autumn 2020) Not appointed (sociology)

Not appointed (human geography)

Student representative for interdisciplinary programmes (spring 2020) Not appointed (KULKOM)

Not appointed  (UTV)

 Not appointed  (OLA)


Published Oct. 17, 2012 2:39 PM - Last modified May 7, 2020 11:22 AM