The Frisch and Haavelmo Jubilee Seminar and the Haavelmo Lecture

In 2019 it is 50 years and 30 years respectively since Ragnar Frisch and Trygve Haavelmo received The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel. The Department of Economics and the Faculty of Social Sciences invite to a celebration.

Photo of Trygve Haavelmo and Ragnar Frisch
Photo: UiO

The celebration consists of three sections:

A seminar will be held to celebrate the works of Frisch and Haavelmo. Speakers will be Professor Robert W. Dimand and Professor Ariane Dupont, with comments by Professor Charles Manski and Professor Kalle Moene.

Next the Haavelmo lecture will be held by Professor Charles Manski.The Haavelmo lecture is a biennial event to celebrate the work of Haavelmo, and this year the lecture will be a part of the jubilee. 

As a token of the University's appreciation of the two Nobel laureats and to honour their legacy, two of the auditoriums in Eilert Sundts hus will be named after Frisch and Haavelmo. Everyone is welcome to attend the ceremony after the lecture.


The Frisch and Haavelmo jubilee seminar (Auditorium 1)

11.30 – 12.15    Sandwich Lunch

12.15 – 12.25     Welcome

12.25 – 13.05     Robert W. Dimand "Irving Fisher, Ragnar Frisch and the Elusive Quest for Measurable Utility". Background working paper

13.05 – 13.25     Break

13.25 – 14.05     Ariane Dupont “The social responsibility of the econometrician: did development issues  in Egypt and India change Ragnar Frisch's conception of planning?” 

14.05 – 14.25    Kalle Moene, comments and reflections

14.25 – 14.45    Charles Manski, comments and reflections


The Haavelmo Lecture (Auditorium 1)

15.15 – 16.20    Charles Manski: Econometrics for Decision Making."  Background working paper


Naming Ceremony (Foyer, entrance to auditorium 1 and 7)

16.30 – 17.00     Inauguration of the Ragnar Frisch Auditorium and the Trygve Haavelmo Auditorium


The celebration is open to all, but attendance to the first part, the seminar, requires registration. Registration is now closed, but if you still wish to attend, please send an e-mail to Mari Gakkestad.

The lecture and the naming ceremony require no registration.


Published Oct. 29, 2019 3:46 PM - Last modified Dec. 3, 2021 9:59 AM