Programme structure

The PhD degree consists of a scientific thesis and an educational component equivalent of 30-45 ECTS.

As a part of the educational component, all PhD candidates at the Faculty of Social Sciences have 10 ECTS of compulsory courses in philosophy of social science and research ethics (among other things).

The rest of the educational component varies depending on the candidate's programme option.

Required courses

  • SV9105 is given for the last time autumn 2020 and spring 2021.
  • SV9105 will be replaced by SV9108.

Changes in the programme

Information about changes of the PhD programme effective from autumn 2018 and transitional arrangements for the required faculty courses for candidates admitted before autumn 2018.