Time and place: Apr. 1, 2016 8:00 AMApr. 2, 2016 6:00 PM, Columbia University NYC

The aim of this conference is to promote a comparative, interdisciplinary dialogue on methodological and substantive issues in the study of constituent assemblies between scholars from different parts of the world, featuring historians, political theorists, legal scholars, sociologists and politicians working on constitution-making in Europe, Asia, South America, Africa and North America.

Time: Nov. 16, 2015Nov. 19, 2015

This workshop examines how parliaments organize to maximize governmental efficiency as well as their ability to keep coalition governments together. What are the internal and external institutional determinants that shape legislative coalition management and help increase the coalition's legislative capacity? Does this institutional structure vary across countries?

Time and place: Nov. 5, 2015 9:00 AMNov. 6, 2015 3:00 PM, UiO

Workshop 2 at the conference Challenges to Democracy, 5-6 November 2015, University of Oslo.

Time and place: June 8, 2015 9:00 AMJune 9, 2015 5:30 PM, Niels Treschows Hus, Seminar Room, 12th Floor

The “negative” archetype of parliamentarism, where the government remains in power as long as the majority chooses not to remove it, is today based on the experience of only a few countries (for example, the Scandinavian countries), where the principle of assembly confidence took roots over a relatively long period of time and under restricted political competition.

Time and place: Sep. 11, 2014Sep. 12, 2014, The Norwegian Institute Rome, Italy

This workshop examines how parliamentarians respond to economic crises. Do policy responses vary across countries? Does the institutional context in which policy is made influence governments’ reaction to economic crises?

Time and place: June 16, 2014 9:30 AMJune 17, 2014 4:00 PM, Skytteanum, Uppsala University

We are pleased to announce an international workshop on The Importance of Constitutions in Uppsala 16-17 June 2014, a few days before the Swedish midsummer celebrations. A first meeting on the topic was arranged in Istanbul in October 2013. This time too, we invite papers discussing parliamentarism, representation and voting rights from a constitutional perspective. We expect some of the participants from the Istanbul event to join with revised or entirely new papers, but we like to invite other participants as well. We plan for a total number of around 20 participants each day.

Time and place: June 9, 2014 3:00 PM6:00 PM, Room 830 ES, Blindern

Project meeting at the University of Oslo with core participants: Bjørn Erik Rasch, Bjørn Høyland, José Antonio Cheibub, Shane Martin, Cristina Bucur and Stephanie Rickard.

Time and place: Apr. 10, 2014Apr. 15, 2014, Salamanca, Spain

The number of democracies in the world today is higher than in any other time. The majority of these democracies adopt a parliamentary constitution, that is, one that is based on assembly confidence. Assembly confidence regimes are those in which governments, in order to come to and stay in power, must be at least tolerated by a legislative majority. They can be divided into positive and negative parliamentarism. The aim of the workshop is to examine the origins and consequences of the mechanisms of positive and negative parliamentarism.

Time and place: Oct. 23, 2013 9:00 AMOct. 25, 2013 1:00 PM, Istiklal Caddesi 247, Tünel – Beyoglu, ISTANBUL

The Research Programme on Democracy at the University of Oslo and Uppsala University are organizing a workshop at the Swedish Research Institute in Istanbul, Turkey. The event is multi-disciplinary (social sciences, humanities and constitutional law) and paper-based. Participants should arrive at the conference hotel on the evening of Tuesday October 22. The workshop ends with lunch on Friday October 25.

Time and place: May 7, 2013 12:30 PMMay 8, 2013 5:00 PM, Blindern/Tøyen Hovedgård

Project kick-off meeting at the University of Oslo with core participants of the project: Bjørn Erik Rasch, Bjørn Høyland, José Antonio Cheibub, Shane Martin, Stephanie Rickard, Natalia Ajenjo, Eivind Smith and Yael Shomer. RA: Haakon Gjerløw. Guest (Tuesday): Kaare Strøm.