SFEL8000 Philosophy of Science for the Social Sciences

Course responsible: Professor Peter Sohlberg Administrative coordinator: Siw Berg

Credits: 10 ECTS

Registration deadline: Monday 11 January 2021

Formal requirements: Masters degree in the Social Sciences or equivalent

It is recommended that participants have a clear plan for their PhD-projects as they are supposed to write a brief presentation of their coming research and research interests in the beginning of the course.

More information about the course and the course plan can be found in the course description

How to apply

If you have been admitted to a PhD programme at NTNU you must sign up to the course via Studweb

If you are taking the course before you are formally admitted to a PhD programme, you need to apply to the course via Søknadsweb, and you must pay a semester fee.

For participants outside of NTNU, please find more information about formal requirements and how to register here. Please note that you will need access to Blackboard in order to follow the lectures. If you have not been registered as a student at NTNU previously, you need to activate a user account at NTNU in order to access Blackboard. 

 

Teaching and schedule for the spring semester:

Teaching during the Spring semester at NTNU will be a combination of physical presence on Campus and digital learning.

 

Module 1: Introduction. Basic concepts and perspectives (digital)

Monday 25th January 13.15 - 16.00 

Tuesday 26th January 13.15 - 16.00  

Wednesday 27th January 13.15 - 16.00

 

Module 2: Philosophy of science – methodological implications and strategies (on Dragvoll Campus - auditorium D136

Monday 15th February 13.15 - 16.00

Tuesday 16th February 13.15 - 16.00

Wednesday 17th February 13.15 - 16.00

 

Module 3: Research ethics in the research process and the organization of research (on Dragvoll Campus - auditorium D136

Monday 8th March 13.15 - 16.00

Tuesday 9th March 13.15 - 16.00

Wednesday 10th March 13.15 – 16.00

 

Module 4: Workshop related to the exam (digital)

Monday 22nd March 13.15 - 17.00

Tuesday 23rd March 13.15 - 17.00

 

Module 5: Seminar with feedback (not obligatory - digital)

Tuesday 4th May 13.15 - 16.00

Wednesday 5th May 13.15 - 16.00

 

Organizer

NTNU
Tags: Philosophy of science, Social Science
Published Dec. 16, 2020 1:04 PM - Last modified Dec. 16, 2020 1:46 PM